Frequently Asked Questions

Different accents and dialects can be interpreted by the speech recognition system differently. It is important to test your keywords to see how you need to spell them, phonetically, for the app to accurately pick them up. We recommend testing using the Covert Messaging feature to save your emergency recording minutes for real emergency situations. It is important to test the Covert Alert app thoroughly in a variety of situations to see how your phone performs.

Covert Alert is a simple, yet powerful, voice-activated emergency app that notifies selected contacts when you are in danger. It also has other valuable features such as covert recording and hands-free text messaging.

When you think you may be entering a situation where you could potentially encounter danger, activate Covert Alert's "Protection Mode" by saying "protect me now." From then on, Covert Alert silently listens to trigger words and performs various hands-free actions such as sending an emergency alert, secretly text messaging or covertly recording. These messages are sent to the contacts that you have selected inside the app.

Your contacts will receive a text message, letting them know you are in danger and need help. In that text message, they will also receive a link to view your location in real time, allowing them to travel to your location to intervene and/or alert authorities as well.

You can add up to five emergency contacts via the Contacts screen on iOS and the Manage Alerts screen on Android. You should choose contacts who you trust, and who you know would act in the case of an emergency.

Utilizing Covert Alert's "Protection Mode" will decrease your phone's battery life at a higher rate due to its use of the phone's audio hardware to provide you the ability to trigger your emergency alert hands-free. Should you need to be protected for an extended period, such as when babysitting or overnight while you are sleeping, we strongly recommend that you keep it plugged in using a charger.

Covert Alert records your surroundings during emergency situations. The recording function automatically triggers at the same time you say your trigger keywords to activate your emergency alert, and continues until you manually disable "Protection Mode."

At present, Covert Alert is available for both iOS and Android phones and tablets.

Your recordings are saved on Covert Alert's secure cloud. You may log into your personal cloud here on our website. Use the login method, name and password you use for your app. Recordings are stored on your personal device and on your secure cloud.

When you download, you get the fully featured Covert Alert mobile application, plus fifteen (15) free minutes of recording time and fifty (50) free text messages.

Covert Alert can be programmed to give you a specific response when you trigger your emergency alert. You can choose either a custom audible response or no response at all.

Covert Alert needs your microphone to listen to your trigger words in an emergency situation. Covert Alert will only listen when you activate "Protection Mode." The app needs access to your location to be able to provide your emergency contacts with your precise GPS location to intervene or alert the proper authorities of the situation.

Many high-traffic 3rd party security and safety applications leverage call centers to alert authorities of the emergency situations of their users. Unfortunately, over time, the high prevalence of false alarms and frequent inability to offer the person in danger's exact location has driven 911 to de-prioritize these incoming call center queues in favor of individual callers. Covert Alert gives your contacts the ability to call 911 directly and provide them with your precise location.

Once logged in, Covert Alert begins listening even when the screen is turned off, but the phone remains on. Covert Alert is designed to work in the foreground, background, and lock screen mode.

Unfortunately, like any app, Covert Alert will cease functioning when the phone is turned off.

No. Covert Alert only begins tracking your location when an emergency alert has been triggered. Note: Covert Alert will continue to track your location from that point until you log out of the app. Your location is still being tracked after you manually disable "Protection Mode." Should someone else gain access to your phone in the event of an emergency and end Protection Mode, this allows loved ones and authorities to continue to find you.

Covert Alert may be activated manually by simply tapping the Protect Me Now button, then pulling the Covert Alert icon down and then the SOS icon down which manually sends the emergency alert.

No, you may set up your phone so when your phone is on you may say, “Hey Siri” or “Hey Google”,"Protect Me Now". This will log you into the app and begin listening for your keywords set for an emergency, totally hands free.I think that about covers it unless someone has additional suggestions.